Industry Partnership Honorary Fellowships Mr Michael LI Hon-shing, KSJ, SBS, JP

Honorary Fellowships

Mr Michael LI Hon-shing, KSJ, SBS, JP

Executive Director, The Federation of Hong Kong Hotel Owners

*Extract from Order of Ceremony 2010
detail page-Michael LI Hon-shing
Mr Michael LI Hon-shing was conferred the VTC Honorary Fellowship by then Chief Secretary for Administration Mr Henry TANG, GBM, GBS, JP at Graduation Ceremony 2010

Mr Michael LI Hon-shing is the Executive Director of the Federation of Hong Kong Hotel Owners (FHKHO), Appointed Member of Eastern District Council and Council Member of the Hong Kong Consumer Council. He had also been a Member of Protection of Wages on Insolvency Fund Board, Member of Railway Objections Hearing Panel and Member of Committee on Labour Relations under the Labour Advisory Board.

Passion and expertise have motivated Mr Li and his team at FHKHO to conduct research studies and give opinions in policy formulation, advising the government on macro policies related to the sustainable development of the hotel and tourism industry. He is sitting on Government Advisory Committees related to hotel and tourism, as well as the School of Hotel and Tourism Management Advisory Committees of the Hong Kong Polytechnic University and the Chinese University of Hong Kong. He has also been a frequent spokesperson in current affairs involving the hotel industry.

Devoted to vocational education and training, Mr Li served as a Member of VTC’s Hotel, Catering and Tourism Training Board in 1998-2001 and 2005-2007 and has assumed the Vice-Chairmanship since 2007. He has also been the Vice-Chairman of the Chinese Cuisine Training Institute (CCTI) Training Board for over 7 years. During the initial establishment of CCTI, Mr Li provided insightful input to its curriculum and infrastructure development. He has also provided expert advice to the accreditation work of CCTI’s certificate courses.

Mr Li was appointed Justice of the Peace in 2002 and was awarded the Bronze Bauhinia Star in 2004 by the Government of the Hong Kong SAR for his valuable contributions to the industry and society.