BTEC Extended Diploma

BTEC Extended Diploma

BTEC stands for the Business and Technology Education Council. BTECs are career-based qualifications which combine practical learning with subject and theory content. Along with A Levels, BTEC Level 3 Extended Diploma is a widely-recognised qualification to get into University. In 2015, 95% of UK universities and colleges accepted students with a BTEC qualifications, including universities from the Russell Group. Most universities in Hong Kong also accept BTEC qualifications for non-JUPAS admissions.

How will I be assessed

BTECs are made up of a number of units, which are usually assessed through assignments that are both set and marked by your teacher or course tutor. Assignments can include tests, research, essays, projects, investigations, artwork, fieldwork, experiments and often link theory with practical exercises. As you are assessed throughout your course, you can analyse and improve your performance in the same way as you would in a workplace.

The course specification, which you'll find on the subject page for each BTEC qualification, will provide more information on how your course is assessed.

How are BTECs graded

BTECs are graded using a Pass (P), Merit (M), Distinction (D) and Distinction* (D*) scale. Depending on the size of your course, you may receive one, two or three grades.

Letters of Recognition for BTEC