Industry Partnership Honorary Fellowships Professor Eric YIM Chi-ming, MH, JP

Honorary Fellowships

Professor Eric YIM Chi-ming, MH, JP

Chairman, Hong Kong Design Centre

*Extract from Order of Ceremony 2022
Detail Page_Professor Eric YIM Chi-ming
Professor Eric YIM Chi-ming, MH, JP was conferred the VTC Honorary Fellowship by Deputy Chief Secretary for Administration, Mr CHEUK Wing-hing, GBS, JP

A renowned architect, furniture designer, industrialist and entrepreneur, Professor Eric C. YIM is dedicated to demonstrating his visions to bridge the two worlds of design and everyday life. Prof Yim places special emphasis on the development of different industries by nurturing youths with design thinking.
 

Prof Yim has been highly regarded for his business innovation and design acumen. Over the years, he has earned a string of accolades, including the Outstanding Achievement Award (Design) 2021 by the Graphic Arts Association of Hong Kong and the Scholar Marketer of the Year 2021 by the Hong Kong Institute of Marketing.
 

Devoted to connecting people from various sectors, Prof Yim served as the VTC Deputy Chairman (2016 to 2021) to promote VPET. His broad positions as VTC Council Member; Adviser to the Hong Kong Design Institute (HKDI); Vice-Chairman of the Board of Governors at Technological and Higher Education Institute of Hong Kong; and Chairperson of SkillsExcellence Committee for enhancing Team Hong Kong for the WorldSkills Competition; have enhanced the learners’ horizons with special emphasis on imagination, creativity and innovation.
 

Prof Yim has leveraged his broad expertise and extensive international network to enhance the development of the VTC. During his service as the Advisory Board Chairman for the HKDI and the Chairman of Hong Kong Furniture & Decoration Trade Association, his strong connection with local and internationally renowned furniture companies brought many industrial attachments and mentorship opportunities for the VTC furniture design students. Selected student projects were able to be showcased at the Milan Design Week, the world’s most important Furniture Fair.
 

With the establishment of the “MING Foundation”, Prof Yim has sponsored numerous student scholarships and sponsorships since 2005. He has donated through the VTC Design Education Fund, Innovative Furniture Design Student Excellence Award, the VTC Student Development Foundation, etc., benefitting the VTC Design Discipline students and encouraging talented youths to thrive on and outgrow their brilliance.

业界合作 荣誉院士 严志明教授, MH, JP

荣誉院士

严志明教授, MH, JP

香港设计中心董事会主席

*摘自2022年度颁授典礼
Detail Page_Professor Eric YIM Chi-ming
严志明教授, MH, JP获政务司副司长卓永兴先生, GBS, JP颁授VTC荣誉院士荣衔

严志明教授是知名建筑师、家具设计师、工业家及企业家,致力透过不同形式将设计融入日常生活,实现其远见卓识,并特别重视通过培养年轻人的设计思维来发展不同产业。
 

严教授在商业创新和设计上的成就备受推崇,多年来屡获殊荣,包括香港印艺学会颁授「杰出成就大奖 (设计界) 」,及香港市务学会颁授「年度市务学人大奖」。
 

严教授乐于连系不同界别,他曾担任 VTC 副主席 ( 2016 - 2021 年),积极推广职专教育,他亦曾是 VTC 理事会成员、香港知专设计学院顾问、香港高等教育科技学院校董会副主席、及世界技能大赛技能提升委员会主席。严教授倡导学生重视想像、创意及创新,拓阔学生的视野。
 

严教授以多元专业知识和广阔国际人脉,协助 VTC 巩固院校与业界的伙伴关系。在担任香港知专设计学院顾问委员会主席及香港家私装饰厂商总会主席期间,藉著他与本地及国际知名家私公司的紧密关系,为 VTC 家具设计课程学生带来众多工作实习及师友学习机会。部份学生专题项目更得以在全球最重要的家具展 —「米兰设计周」中亮相。
 

严教授创办「明基金」,自 2005 年起一直资助多个学生奖学金及赞助项目,包括 VTC 设计教育基金、创意家具设计优秀学生奖、VTC 学生发展基金等,惠及众多 VTC 设计学科学生,激励他们继续发展才能。