Skip to main content
Open/Close Side Menu Open/Close Main Menu
Start of Content
Engineering Discipline

Higher Diploma in Civil Engineering

Programme code EG114101

Duration of Study
2 Years
Mode of Study
Full-time
Offering Campus(es) / Venue(s)
IVE (Tsing Yi)
IVE (Tuen Mun)
Entrance Requirements
Five HKDSE subjects at Level 2 or above, including English Language, Chinese Language and Mathematics; OR VTC Foundation Diploma (Level 3) / Diploma of Foundation Studies with successful completion of Foundation Mathematics III; OR VTC Diploma in Vocational Education / Diploma of Vocational Education with successful completion of Mathematics 3G; OR Yi Jin Diploma / Diploma Yi Jin with successful completion of Mathematics Plus; OR Equivalent.
Remarks :
  1. Holders of VTC Foundation Diploma (Level 3) / Diploma of Foundation Studies / VTC Diploma in Vocational Education / Diploma of Vocational Education / Yi Jin Diploma / Diploma Yi Jin without successful completion of the relevant optional Mathematics module, should possess HKDSE Mathematics at Level 2 or above.
  2. An "Attained", "Attained with Distinction (I)" and "Attained with Distinction (II)" in an HKDSE Applied Learning (ApL) subject (Category B subjects) are regarded as equivalent to an HKDSE subject at "Level 2", "Level 3" and "Level 4" respectively, and a maximum of two ApL subjects (excluding ApL(C)) can be counted for admission purpose.
  3. A "Grade D or E" and a "Grade C or above" in an HKDSE Other Language subject (Category C subjects) are regarded as equivalent to an HKDSE subject at "Level 2" and "Level 3" respectively, and one Other Language subject can be counted for admission purpose.
  4. Holders of Diploma in Vocational Education / Diploma of Vocational Education (DVE) award upon successful completion of prescribed modules are eligible to apply for Higher Diploma Programmes.
Programme Aims
This programme aims to provide students with the necessary technical and professional knowledge and skills to pursue a career as higher technicians in civil engineering or related fields.  It prepares students for careers as technicians or technician engineers in the civil / structural engineering and construction industry.  It also aims to develop students who can think independently, appreciate technical, managerial and social constraints in their working environment and are able to make professional judgements.
 
This programme is designed with an emphasis on generic and language training, whole-person development and workplace experience to better prepare students for further studies and employment after graduation.
Career Prospects
The employment rate of graduates is high. Graduates may take up positions as technician engineers, assistant engineers, project co-coordinators, project officers, works supervisors and technical officers, etc.  They can pursue further study for career advancement to professional level.
Articulation
Graduates may apply for admission to relevant degree programmes offered by local and overseas universities, including :
  1. The University of Hong Kong
  2. The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology
  3. The Hong Kong Polytechnic University
  4. City University of Hong Kong
  5. The Technological and Higher Education Institute of Hong Kong
  6. RMIT University (Australia) (Part-time top-up Degree programme operated at SHAPE of VTC)
  7. University of Wales, Swansea (UK) (complete the Bachelor in Engineering (Civil) programme in two years. Higher Diploma graduates with Distinction or Credit award may be admitted directly to the Master Degree programme and complete the Master in Engineering (Civil) in two years.)
Professional Recognition
The programme is widely accepted by the industry.  It is accredited by the Hong Kong Institution of Engineers and the Hong Kong Institute of Construction Managers as a required academic qualification for their Associate Membership.  Recognition from other relevant professional bodies will also be sought.
 
The graduates with relevant work experience are eligible to become Grades T1 to T3 of Technically Competent Person (TCP) of specific streams and scopes under the Site Supervision Plan System of the Buildings Ordinance.
 
Graduates completed the required module of the programme will be issued with Green Cards which fulfills the Mandatory Basic Safety Training requirement for working in construction sites.
Notes
VTC reserves the right to cancel any programme, revise programme title, content or change the offering institute(s) / campus(es) / class venue(s) if circumstances so warrant.

跳至主要内容
展开/折迭副目录 展开/折迭主目录
开始内容
工程学科

土木工程高级文凭

课程编号 EG114101

以下列载於 2019 年 9 月开办的课程资料。2020/21 学年开办的课程资料将於 2019 年 11 月下旬公布。
修读期
2 年
上课形式
全日制
开办院校/上课地点
IVE(摩理臣山)
IVE(青衣)
IVE(屯门)
入学条件
香港中学文凭考试五科成绩达第二级或以上,包括英国语文、中国语文及数学;或VTC基础文凭(级别三)/基础课程文凭及完成其基础数学(三)单元;或VTC中专教育文凭/职专文凭及完成其数学3G / 3E单元;或毅进文凭及完成其延伸数学单元;或同等学历。
备注∶
  1. 持有VTC基础文凭(级别三)/基础课程文凭/VTC中专教育文凭/职专文凭/毅进文凭的申请人,如未能完成该课程内的选修数学单元,则香港中学文凭考试数学科成绩须达第二级或以上。
  2. 香港中学文凭考试应用学习科目(乙类科目)取得「达标」/「达标并表现优异(I)」/「达标并表现优异(II)」的成绩,於申请入学时会被视为等同香港中学文凭考试科目成绩达「第二级」/「第三级」/「第四级」;最多计算两科应用学习科目(应用学习中文除外)。
  3. 香港中学文凭考试其他语言科目(丙类科目)取得「D或E级」/「C级或以上」的成绩,於申请入学时会被视为等同香港中学文凭考试科目成绩达「第二级」/「第三级」;只计算一科其他语言科目。
  4. 持中专教育文凭/职专文凭学衔并完成有关升学的指定单元,可报读高级文凭课程。
课程宗旨
本课程旨在为学生提供有关的专门知识和专业技术及才能,让他们能够从事土木工程或相关的工作。课程著重训练学生成为技术员及技术工程师,并培养个人独立思考及创新思考,使能配合社会环境的转变,发挥决策和管理才能,以投身土木工程、结构工程及建造业。
 
本课程著重通识教育、语文训练、全人发展和职场工作体验,为学生毕业后继续升学或就业作更佳装备。
就业
本课程毕业生就业率甚高。毕业生可在建造业内担任技术工程师、助理工程师、项目统筹、项目主任、工地监督或技术主任等职位,并可继续进修而成为专业人士。
銜接安排
毕业生可报读本地或海外大学的相关学土学位课程,包括:
  1. 香港大学
  2. 香港科技大学
  3. 香港理工大学
  4. 香港城市大学
  5. 香港高等教育科技学院(THEi)
  6. 澳洲墨尔本皇家理工大学(在VTC才晋高等教育学院 (SHAPE) 衔接学士学位课程)
  7. 英国威尔斯史云斯大学(可获该校颁发奖学金,并可以两年时间取得工程学士学位。高级文凭毕业成绩优良者更可直接入读工程硕士课程,并可以两年时间取得工程硕士学位。)
专业认可
本课程备受建造业认可,亦被认可成为香港工程师学会及香港营造师学会的仲会员资格的学历要求。本课程会继续寻求相关专业学会的认可。
 
毕业生於累积所需工作经验后,可成为屋宇署「监工计划书制度」下 T1 至 T3 级别及指定范围的「适任技术人员」(TCP)。
 
毕业生完成本课程内所需单元可获签发「强制性基本安全训练证书」(平安咭/绿咭)。
注解
学生或须於其他 VTC 院校上课。VTC 可因应情况取消任何课程、修正课程内容或更改开办课程的院校/分校/上课地点。