Skip to main content
Open/Close Side Menu Open/Close Main Menu
Start of Content
Applied Science Discipline

Higher Diploma in Medical Centre Operations

Programme code AS114210

Duration of Study
2 Years
Mode of Study
Full-time
Offering Campus(es) / Venue(s)
IVE (Kwai Chung)
Entrance Requirements
Five HKDSE subjects at Level 2 or above, including English Language and Chinese Language; OR VTC Foundation Diploma (Level 3) / Diploma of Foundation Studies; OR VTC Diploma in Vocational Education / Diploma of Vocational Education; OR Yi Jin Diploma / Diploma Yi Jin; OR Equivalent.
Remarks :
  1. An "Attained", "Attained with Distinction (I)" and "Attained with Distinction (II)" in an HKDSE Applied Learning (ApL) subject (Category B subjects) are regarded as equivalent to an HKDSE subject at "Level 2", "Level 3" and "Level 4" respectively, and a maximum of two ApL subjects (excluding ApL(C)) can be counted for admission purpose.
  2. A "Grade D or E" and a "Grade C or above" in an HKDSE Other Language subject (Category C subjects) are regarded as equivalent to an HKDSE subject at "Level 2" and "Level 3" respectively, and one Other Language subject can be counted for admission purpose.
  3. Applicable to holders of Diploma in Vocational Education / Diploma of Vocational Education (DVE) (students admitted to DVE in AY2017/18 or before are required to complete prescribed further studies modules).
Programme Aims
This Programme aims to fulfill the VTC mission of providing a valued choice to school leavers and working adults to acquire values, knowledge and skills for lifelong learning and enhanced employability as well as valued supports to the industry for their manpower development.

This programme aims to equip students with the technical and professional knowledge and skills of medical centre operations, including nursing skills, pharmacology, dispensing practice, administration and management skills, health informatics and electronic health records; the necessary language, IT, interpersonal and other generic skills, initially at a paraprofessional level, via the blending of theoretical knowledge and practical application to build their passion and ambitions in health industry and the students are to be trained with discipline, responsibility, professionalism .

This programme is designed with an emphasis on generic and language training, whole-person development and workplace experience to better prepare students for further studies and employment after graduation.
Career Prospects
Graduates enable to pursue a career in the healthcare sector as healthcare personnel or supervisors in medical centre practices, community clinics, public / private hospitals, healthcare institutions and agencies; medical representatives in pharmaceutical, healthcare companies and medical group practices. Graduates may also work as health service education and promotion personnel etc.
 
This programme is linked to the “Earn and Learn” scheme. Upon completion of the full-time first year of this programme1, the student may choose to study in the “Earn and Learn” scheme.

Under the “Earn and Learn” scheme, students can enroll in the seventh semester of the “Earn and Learn” Part-Time (Day) mode. Students will be employed by the participating companies as registered apprentice for three years in the “Earn and Learn”. During the three-year training period, there will be salary, government allowance and additional subsidy. For the first two years of “Earn and Learn” scheme, the employer will sponsor the apprentice to study the Higher Diploma (HD) programme at IVE for one day per week2. In the third year, full-time on-the-job training will be held at the participating companies.
 
For details, please refer to the “Earn and Learn” scheme website
 
Notes:
1 The tuition fee for the full-time Higher Diploma is paid by the student.
2 Employers will sponsor the tuition fees for this two years.
Articulation
Graduates can apply for admission to the following programmes :
  1. Bachelor of Science (Hons) Public Health Studies (Reg No. 252704)# offered by Coventry University in United Kingdom (in collaboration with SHAPE); and
  2. Bachelor of Science (Hons) in Health Care offered by Technological and Higher Education Institute of Hong Kong (THEi).

# It is a matter of discretion for individual employers to recognize any qualification to which this course may lead. Please refer to the corresponding programme page in the website of SHAPE.
Notes
VTC reserves the right to cancel any programme, revise programme title, content or change the offering institute(s) / campus(es) / class venue(s) if circumstances so warrant.

跳至主要内容
展开/折迭副目录 展开/折迭主目录
开始内容
应用科学学科

医务中心营运高级文凭

课程编号 AS114210

以下列载於 2019 年 9 月开办的课程资料。2020/21 学年开办的课程资料将於 2019 年 11 月下旬公布。
修读期
2 年
上课形式
全日制
开办院校/上课地点
IVE(葵涌)
入学条件
香港中学文凭考试五科成绩达第二级或以上,包括英国语文及中国语文;或VTC基础文凭(级别三)/基础课程文凭;或VTC中专教育文凭/职专文凭;或毅进文凭;或同等学历。
备注∶
  1. 香港中学文凭考试应用学习科目(乙类科目)取得「达标」/「达标并表现优异(I)」/「达标并表现优异(II)」的成绩,於申请入学时会被视为等同香港中学文凭考试科目成绩达「第二级」/「第三级」/「第四级」;最多计算两科应用学习科目(应用学习中文除外)。
  2. 香港中学文凭考试其他语言科目(丙类科目)取得「D或E级」/「C级或以上」的成绩,於申请入学时会被视为等同香港中学文凭考试科目成绩达「第二级」/「第三级」;只计算一科其他语言科目。
  3. 适用於持中专教育文凭/职专文凭的毕业生(於2017/18学年或以前入读的学生须完成指定升学单元)。
课程宗旨
本课程旨在实现职业训练局的使命,为离校生及在职人士提供一个有价值的选择,用以掌握到工作上的价值观,知识和技能,为终身学习,提升就业的能力,以及支持业界的人力资源发展。

本课程旨在装备学生的医务中心营运专业知识和技能,护理技巧、药理学、配药实务技巧、行政和管理技巧、医疗资讯管理、电子健康记录、行业内所需的语文、资讯科技、人际交往和其他的通用基本技能,透过融合理论、知识和实践提升学生对医疗行业的热忱和抱负,从而训练学生成为守纪律、尽责、专业的医务中心管理人员。

本课程著重通识教育、语文训练、全人发展和职场工作体验,为学生毕业后继续升学或就业作更佳装备。
就业
毕业生在医务中心营运行业中可受聘为辅助性专业人员,如医务中心、社区诊所、在公营/私营医院、院舍、医疗中介公司担任医务助理人员或主管;或可成为医疗集团的医药代表。毕业生亦可在社区担任健康服务教育和推广人员等。
 
本课程与“职学计划”衔接,学生可於完成修读本课程的全日制一年级后1,选择以“职学计划”模式修读。

根据 “职学计划”,学生可入读“职学计划”兼读制(日间)模式的第七学期。学生於“职学计划”内会受聘於行业机构成为注册学徒三年,此三年培训期间会有薪金、政府津贴、职学金。首两年“职学计划”期间获雇主保送以日间兼读形式完成余下的高级文凭课程2,并每周於香港专业教育学院 (IVE) 上课一天。第三年,会在受聘的行业机构全职培训。
 
详情请参考 “职学计划” 网页
 
注:
1 全日制高级文凭课程之学费由学生支付。
2 此两年於“职学计划”内之学费由雇主承担。
銜接安排
毕业生可报读下列课程:
  1. 香港高等教育科技学院(THEi)医疗护理(荣誉)理学士;及
  2. 澳洲昆士兰科技大学足病诊疗学士。
注解
学生或须於其他 VTC 院校上课。VTC 可因应情况取消任何课程、修正课程内容或更改开办课程的院校/分校/上课地点。