Honorary Fellowships

Mr Arthur BOWRING

Managing Director, Hong Kong Shipowners Association

*Extract from Order of Ceremony 2016
detail page-Mr Arthur BOWRING
Mr Arthur BOWRING was conferred the VTC Honorary Fellowship by then VTC Executive Director Dr Carrie Yau, GBS, JP

Mr Arthur BOWRING has been the Managing Director of Hong Kong Shipowners Association (HKSOA) since 1997, and is a Maritime Arbitrator and Mediator. Mr Bowring started his maritime career in 1968 as a cadet seagoing officer, and has almost 50 years of extensive experience in different areas of maritime affairs. He is Chairman of the Labour Affairs Committee of the International Chamber of Shipping and Spokesman for the Maritime Employers’ Group at the International Labour Organisation. He is Council Member of the Hong Kong International Arbitration Centre, and a member of the Centre’s Panel of Arbitrators. He is Convenor of the Hong Kong Maritime Arbitration Group, and Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Shipbrokers, The Nautical Institute, the Royal Institution of Naval Architects, the Chartered Institute of Arbitrators and the Hong Kong Institute of Arbitrators. In 2014 he was awarded Lloyd’s List Asia Lifetime Achievement Award, and in 2015 he was awarded the Seatrade Maritime Asia “Contribution to the Development of the Hong Kong Maritime Cluster” award.


Mr Bowring is a member of Promotion and External Relations Committee of the Hong Kong Maritime and Port Board. He has contributed many papers to industry media, regularly spoken at international conferences, and championed many industry initiatives that have given the HKSOA a high international profile, which have made Hong Kong shipowners well-represented and visible in the world maritime community. Mr Bowring is also one of the strongest advocates of environmental responsibility of the industry, and is a staunch campaigner in minimising the environmental impact brought about by the maritime industry.


Mr Bowring is a long-standing industry partner of the VTC. He joined the Maritime Services Training Board (MSTB) in 1998 and was Vice-Chairman from 1999 to 2008. He has been appointed as Chairman of MSTB since 2011. In his role, Mr Bowring has given precious advice to the VTC on maritime services and has been very supportive in promoting VTC’s programmes and services to the industry. In 2016, facilitated by Mr Bowring, the VTC has collaborated with the Warsash Maritime Academy (WMA) of Southampton Solent University, UK, to offer top-up degree programme for VTC graduates in maritime studies, making the VTC the first institution outside the UK to enter into such collaboration with WMA.

業界合作 榮譽院士 包榮先生

榮譽院士

包榮先生

香港船東會執行董事

*摘自2016年度頒授典禮
detail page-Mr Arthur BOWRING
包榮先生獲時任VTC執行幹事尤曾家麗博士, GBS, JP頒授VTC榮譽院士榮銜

包榮先生自1997年起擔任香港船東會執行董事,亦是海事仲裁員和調解員。他於1968年投身航運業成為航海學員,至今累積近50年豐富海事經驗,涉獵範疇甚廣。他現為國際航運商會勞工事務委員會主席、國際勞工組織海事僱主小組發言人,亦是香港國際仲裁中心理事會成員及轄下仲裁員名冊成員,同時身兼海事仲裁小組召集人。此外,他亦是英國特許船舶經紀學會、航海學會、英國皇家造船師學會、英國特許仲裁員學會、香港仲裁司學會的院士。他於2014年榮獲國際航運界權威媒體《勞氏日報》頒授「亞洲終身成就獎」, 及於2015年獲Seatrade 亞洲海事頒發「香港海事中心發展貢獻獎」。
 

作為現任香港海運港口局推廣及外務委員會成員,包榮先生為業界媒體撰文,篇章甚多,並經常擔任國際會議演講嘉賓,積極推許業界多項工作計劃,令香港船東會在國際航運界的地位及形象大大提升。包榮先生更致力推動航運業界的環保工作。
 

多年來,包榮先生一直是VTC合作緊密的業界伙伴。他1998年加入海事服務業訓練委員會,1999至2008年出任副主席,2011年起獲委任為主席,為VTC提供海事服務的寶貴意見,亦積極向業界推廣VTC課程和服務。2016年,包榮先生促成VTC與英國南安普頓索倫特大學瓦薩希海事學院展開合作,為VTC海事課程畢業生提供銜接學位課程,VTC亦成為學院在英國以外首間合辦此類課程的伙伴院校。