Skip to main content
Open/Close Side Menu Open/Close Main Menu
Start of Content
Engineering Discipline

Higher Diploma in Aircraft Maintenance Engineering

Programme code EG114704

Duration of Study
2 Years
Mode of Study
Full-time
Offering Campus(es) / Venue(s)
(Planned Places)
IVE (Tsing Yi) - 110
Average Result of Admitted Students in 2017 (Note 1)
14
Entrance Requirements
Five HKDSE subjects at Level 2 or above, including English Language, Chinese Language and Mathematics; OR VTC Foundation Diploma (Level 3) / Diploma of Foundation Studies with successful completion of Foundation Mathematics III; OR VTC Diploma in Vocational Education /  Diploma of Vocational Education with successful completion of Mathematics 3G; OR Equivalent.
Remarks :
  1. For applicants with HKDSE Level 2 or above in Physics / Combined Science (with Physics component at Level 2 or above) or equivalent qualification, they can be granted an exemption from the study of the module - Fundamental Engineering Science.
  2. Holders of VTC Foundation Diploma (Level 3) /  Diploma of Foundation Studies / Diploma in Vocational Education / Diploma of Vocational Education without successful completion of the relevant optional Mathematics module, should possess HKDSE Mathematics at level 2 or above.
  3. An "Attained", "Attained with Distinction (I)" and "Attained with Distinction (II)" in an HKDSE Applied Learning (ApL) subject (Category B subjects) are regarded as equivalent to an HKDSE subject at "Level 2", "Level 3" and "Level 4" respectively, and a maximum of two ApL subjects (excluding ApL(C)) can be counted for admission purpose.
  4. A "Grade D or E" and a "Grade C or above" in an HKDSE Other Language subject (Category C subjects) are regarded as equivalent to an HKDSE subject at "Level 2" and "Level 3" respectively, and one Other Language subject can be counted for admission purpose.
  5. Holders of Diploma in Vocational Education / Diploma of Vocational Education (DVE) award upon successful completion of prescribed modules are eligible to apply for Higher Diploma Programmes.
  6. Yi Jin Diploma / Diploma Yi Jin graduates are not eligible to apply.
  7. Applicants may be required to attend an interview.
  8. For details please contact Engineering Department of IVE (Tsing Yi) :
    Telephone No. : 2436 8641 
    E-mail Address : ty-eng@vtc.edu.hk
  9. Other information :
    • Students will have to attend about 400 hours of additional practical training / industrial attachment in Xiamen or Guangzhou, China, at an extra fee (For reference, HK$24,000 would be required for academic year 2017/18, and the actual fee is subject to change). The student grant and loan schemes cover both this fee and the tuition fees. Applicants should also note the requirement of medical fitness by the industry.
    • For the training in Xiamen or Guangzhou, students will be provided with accommodation. They have to pay for their own travelling to and from Xiamen or Guangzhou and living expenses.
    • Students who opt to obtain the “HKAR-66 Aircraft Maintenance Licence in B1.1 Aeroplanes Turbine or B2* Avionics” are required to accumulate practical training hours in an approved aircraft maintenance organization to fulfill the HKCAD requirement after graduation.
Programme Aims
This programme aims to train students becoming licensed ( B1.1 Aeroplanes Turbine or B2* Avionics) aircraft maintenance personnel who may serve as certifying engineers or technicians so that they may be capable to satisfy the growing needs of the aviation industry.

IVE (TY) has acquired approval from Hong Kong Civil Aviation Department as an Approved Aircraft Maintenance Training Organisation. Since aircraft operations and maintenance are international or cross-bordered in nature as well as internationally connected and recognised, students are given chances to widen their perspectives as well as gaining international experiences and practices. Hence, students are arranged to undergo practical training and aircraft maintenance practices at the HAECO (Hong Kong), HAECO (Xiamen), Guangzhou Civil Aviation College and/or other aircraft maintenance organizations located at the Guangzhou International Airport.

This programme is designed with an emphasis on generic and language training, whole-person development and workplace experience to better prepare students for further studies and employment after graduation.
Career Prospects
The programme is also designed in accordance with the Hong Kong Aviation Requirements-66 so as to train students to a standard recognised by the authorities and the industry in the field of aircraft maintenance engineering. Graduates may be employed by aircraft maintenance companies, airline companies, airfreight cargo operators and / or related organisations / companies in the aviation industry. Graduates may apply for full-time or part-time related professional degree programmes at local or overseas universities.
 
The Hong Kong Aircraft Engineering Co. Ltd. (HAECO) and IVE(TY) collaborate to offer an Industrial Training programme. Students being successfully selected may undergo training at HAECO.
Articulation
Graduates can apply for admission to the relevant BEng (Hons) programmes offered by the following local universities :
  1. The University of Hong Kong
  2. The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology
  3. The Chinese University of Hong Kong
  4. The Hong Kong Polytechnic University
  5. The City University of Hong Kong 
Upon admission to relevant degree programmes, graduates can apply for credit exemption. The level of exemption will be considered on individual basis.

Higher Diploma is recognised by most overseas universities. Special offers are given by :
  1. The University of Sheffield, UK
  2. Swansea University, Wales, UK
  3. The University of Liverpool, UK
Professional Recognition
This programme is approved by the Civil Aviation Department of the Hong Kong S.A.R. Government as an approved aircraft maintenance training course.
 
The Higher Diploma in Aircraft Maintenance Engineering has been accredited by the Hong Kong Institution of Engineers as satisfying the academic requirements for its associate membership.
 
Partial Tuition Refund Scheme for the Specialised Aircraft Maintenance Programme:
Graduates from the programme meeting the requirements are eligible to apply for the scheme. Successful applicants may receive 50% refund of the total tuition fee paid for the Higher Diploma in Aircraft Maintenance Engineering, subject to a maximum sum of HK$30,000 (whichever is the less) each. For more details, please refer to :
http://www.thb.gov.hk/eng/whatsnew/transport/2014/20140401-02.htm
Notes
  1. Average result in 2017 refers to average score of the best 5 HKDSE subjects, including English Language and Chinese Language, of admitted students in 2017 for reference only.
    (Scoring scale: 5**=7 points; 5*=6 points; 5=5 points; 4=4 points; 3=3 points; 2=2 points; 1=1 point)
  2. VTC reserves the right to cancel any programme, revise programme title, content or change the offering institute(s) / campus(es) / class venue(s) if circumstances so warrant.

跳至主要內容
展開/折疊副目錄 展開/折疊主目錄
開始內容
工程學科

飛機維修工程高級文憑

課程編號 EG114704

修讀期
2 年
上課形式
全日制
開辦院校/上課地點
IVE(青衣)
入學條件
香港中學文憑考試五科成績達第二級或以上,包括英國語文、中國語文及數學;或VTC 基礎文憑(級別三)/基礎課程文憑及完成其基礎數學(三)單元;或VTC中專教育文憑/職專文憑及完成其數學3G / 3E單元;或毅進文憑及完成其延伸數學單元;或同等學歷。
備註︰
  1. 申請人若持有香港中學文憑考試物理/組合科學(須包括物理部分,成績達第二級或以上)成績達第二級或以上或等同學歷,入學後將獲豁免修讀學科-工程科學基礎。
  2. 香港中學文憑考試應用學習科目(乙類科目)取得「達標」/「達標並表現優異(I)」/「達標並表現優異(II)」的成績,於申請入學時會被視為等同香港中學文憑考試科目成績達「第二級」/「第三級」/「第四級」;最多計算兩科應用學習科目(應用學習中文除外)。
  3. 香港中學文憑考試其他語言科目(丙類科目)取得「D或E級」/「C級或以上」的成績,於申請入學時會被視為等同香港中學文憑考試科目成績達「第二級」/「第三級」;只計算一科其他語言科目。
  4. 持有 VTC 基礎文憑(級別三)/基礎課程文憑/中專教育文憑/職專文憑/毅進文憑的申請人,如未能完成該課程內的選修數學單元,則香港中學文憑考試數學科成績須達第二級或以上。
  5. 適用於持中專教育文憑/職專文憑的畢業生(於2017/18學年或以前入讀的學生須完成指定升學單元)。
  6. 申請人可能需要參加面試。
  7. 詳情請與 IVE(青衣)工程學系聯絡:
    電話號碼:2436 8641
    電郵地址:ty-eng@vtc.edu.hk
  8. 其他資訊:
    • 學生需參與在廈門或廣州舉行約 400 小時額外培訓和實習。學生需繳交額外費用(在 2018/19 學年,此費用為港幣 24,000 元,以供參考,每年培訓費用或會有所調整)。學生資助/貸款計劃一併涵蓋是項費用及學費。申請人亦需注意有關行業僱主對僱員有一定的身心要求。
    • 在廈門或廣州實訓時,學生可獲提供住宿。學生需自付香港至廈門或廣州來回之交通費及在當地之生活費。
    • 學生畢業後,如選擇考取 HKAR-66 航空器維修執照 - 航空器維修執照 B1.1 航空機械專業 或 B2* 航空電子專業,需要在認可的飛機維修機構內累積足夠的實務時數,以符合香港民航處的要求。
課程宗旨
本課程旨在培訓學生將來成為擁有「航空器維修執照B1.1航空機械專業 或 B2*航空電子專業」資格的飛機維修工程師或技術員,從而滿足香港、中國或亞洲區內不斷增長中的航空業之人力需求。

IVE(青衣)是香港民航處核准之飛機維修訓練機構。航機運作及維修具有國際性或跨境之互相聯系和認可特性,為了讓學生可擴闊視野,吸收及交流國際經驗和心得,學生需要在香港太古飛機工程有限公司、廈門太古飛機工程有限公司、廣州民航職業技術學院及/或其他飛機維修機構進行實幹訓練。
 
本課程著重通識教育、語文訓練、全人發展和職場工作體驗,為學生畢業後繼續升學或就業作更佳裝備。
就業
本課程是依據香港航空要求第66部的學術標準而設計,培訓學生將來成為擁有業界認可資格的飛機維修工程師或技術員。畢業生可於各飛機維修公司、航空客運、貨運公司或有關之機構╱公司等工作。畢業生可投考本港或海外大學的全日制或兼讀制學位課程繼續進修。

香港飛機工程有限公司〔港機工程〕及本學院合作推行一項飛機維修實訓計劃,成功被甄選參與此計劃的學生可在其公司內接受實習訓練。
銜接安排
畢業生可報讀下列本地大學開辦的相關(榮譽)工學士學位課程:
  1. 香港大學
  2. 香港科技大學
  3. 香港中文大學
  4. 香港理工大學
  5. 香港城市大學
視乎畢業生的個別情況,他們在入讀相關學位課程時,可申請不同程度的學分豁免。

大部分海外大學均認可本地高級文憑學歷,下列大學更設有認可/銜接安排:
  1. 英國雪菲爾大學
  2. 英國史雲斯大學
  3. 英國利物浦大學
專業認可
本課程獲香港特區政府民航處核准為航空器維修訓練課程。
 
本課程已獲香港工程師學會承認為符合其仲會員的學歷要求。
 
飛機維修專門課程部分學費退還計劃:
本課程畢業生若符合相關條件,即有資格申請此計劃。成功申請人可獲一次性退還上述飛機維修工程高級文憑學費總額的50%,每宗金額上限為港幣30,000元 (兩者以較低為準)。

詳情請瀏覽:http://www.thb.gov.hk/eng/whatsnew/transport/2014/20140401-02.htm
註解
職業訓練局可因應情況取消任何課程、修正課程名稱、內容或更改開辦課程的院校 / 分校 / 上課地點。