Industry Partnership
 
Home > Industry Partnership > Giving to VTC > Overseas Learning Programmes
{ VTC Student Development Foundation }

The VTC Student Development Foundation is set up through fundraising, to provide learning opportunities for its 50,000 full-time students to further their holistic developments. It covers local and overseas learning activities, scholarships, bursaries and improvement of teaching facilities, to enable students with differing needs equal access to extra-curricular learning opportunities.  This initiative is designed to unleash students’ potentials, broaden their perspectives and acquaint them with multi-culturalism.  The Foundation has, to date, financed over 2,000 students in more than 90 overseas learning and exchange activities.

 
 
Agriculture study trip in Taiwan
 
Collaborating with the Taiwan National University, the IVE Applied Science Department organised an agricultural field trip for a elegation of students.  The itinerary included a visit to the University’s experimental farm, seminar by the Taiwan Executive Yuan where local government officials were invited to speak, and study how private organic farm operates.  Mr Chris Ho, a lecturer in the visiting team, said: “Taiwan’s agricultural industry has a longstanding history, with a reputation in advanced farming technology.  The island is similar to Hong Kong in climate, environment and lifestyle, thus there is much to learn.  The trip familiarised our students with their agricultural policies and the sector’s latest developments.  In addition, they also soaked up considerable knowledge on organic farming and arboriculture, particularly on brown root rot, together with the preventive and curative measures to take against this virulent disease in trees.  Such know-how is hard to come by in Hong Kong, and offers useful knowledge and experiences that our city could draw on.”

 
 
Child care education exchange in Australia
 
Mrs Vega Poon, Senior Lecturer of the Department of Child Education and Community Services said: “Social Constructivism is a theory often discussed in child education.  The emphasis is placed on the independent nature of learning, where children take the initiative to discover and construct the things they learn.  Australia has done excellent work in putting the concept into practice.”  Cheung Fung Yee, a Higher Diploma student in Child Care and Education recalled: “In Australia, young children roam in gardens where they are free to choose what they want to learn from nature.  The activity inspires them to learn through their own creative efforts. Teachers lead children by asking questions and passing on new knowledge whom have a pivotal role in stimulating a child’s desire for independent learning. Flexible teaching methods are therefore of utmost importance.”

 
 
Worldchefs Congress in Norway
 
Organised by the World Association of Chefs’ Societies, the Worldchefs Congress has a long 86-year history.  By attending the Congress, students witnessed international chefs pit their skills in cooking contests and undertook exchanges with industry professionals. Lectures by professional chefs and site visits also drew attention to global topics such as food shortages and waste treatment.  Exposure to these enabled students’ understanding of the food culture and latest development trends, prompting them to rethink the issues and come up with innovative solutions. Yiu On Kei, a Diploma in European Cuisine student said: “I have never thought that Dong Po Pork could be prepared by Western culinary methods.  The world is evolving and we must change with times to progress continuously!”

 
 
Elective course at Elisava Barcelona School of Design in Spain

THEi partnered a top design school in Spain to develop an elective course for students from the Design Faculty.  Aside from classroom training, a local field trip, including a bicycle tour of Barcelona and visit to the government-owned Materfad Materials Centre, was added to let students experience the open education in Spain and understand how the country’s history and culture influenced its designers and artists in outlook. Lai Sze Pui, a product design student in the programme said: “The locals are highly environmentally conscious. When designing functional products, they often exercise the highest level of creativity, with the lowest-cost solutions possible, such
as using a fan-shaped plastic film on a wine glass with a lit candle inside to turn it into a unique-looking lamp.  Their idea of converting old items into new ones inspired me to reflect on my approach to product design.”

 
 
Undergraduate research projects undertaken at tertiary institutions in Japan
 
Japan is a nation renowned for its advanced industrial technology, where its tertiary institutions are equipped with comprehensive laboratories for complex experiments, including those considered unfeasible in Hong Kong.  Last year, some of our students undertook their research projects there, which reinforced their theoretical knowledge learnt from the textbooks.  Yip Cheuk Kei, a Higher Diploma student in Mechanical Engineering, treasured the opportunity he was given to work in one of these facilities: “The undergraduate research project I did in Japan was to study how the impact produced from the blasting of explosives could facilitate metals to form shapes.  During when, I had the opportunity to design, process and produce the object on my own. It offered me a valuable first-hand experience to implement the entire experimental process myself. Such an opportunity would be unthinkable in Hong Kong, at least for the time being!”

業界合作
 
職業訓練局 > 業界合作 > 您的支持 > 海外學習計劃
{ VTC 學生發展基金 }

VTC特別成立學生發展基金,為約50,000名全日制學生提供課堂以外的優質學習和培訓機會,進一步促進學生的全面發展。基金資助範圍包括本地及海外學生學習活動、獎助學金和教學設施的提升,讓有不同需要的學生都能得到均等的課外學習機會,發揮潛能。為讓學生擴闊世界視野、認識多元文化,直至目前,基金已資助超過2,000名學生參與90多個海外學習及交流活動。

 
 
台灣農業考察
 
IVE應用科學系在台中展開農業及有機耕作考察,既與國立臺灣大學合作,參觀其實驗農場;還在台灣行政院的安排下,參加由官員主講的研討會,並參觀其轄下的農業試驗所;亦到民營有機農莊觀摩整個農業運作的情形。講師何家齊先生分享:「台灣除了有悠久的農業歷史及先進技術外,無論氣候、環境或生活模式都與香港接近,參考的價值相對較高。考察計劃讓同學更加了解台灣實行的農業政策及發展情況,同時從中汲取不少有關有機耕作及樹藝方面的知識,尤其是樹木病害如褐根病的研究及治防方法,更是在香港本土難以學到的,值得香港借鏡。」

 
 
澳洲幼兒教育交流
 
幼兒教育及社會服務系高級講師潘宋瑋婷女士說:「幼兒教育界經常強調『社會建構論』,着重幼兒本身的學習獨立性,由幼兒自主去發掘、建構自己所學的東西,澳洲在實踐方面十分出色。」就讀幼兒教育高級文憑的張鳳儀同學表示:「在澳洲他們會設置一個花園,讓小朋友在自然環境中就地取材,透過創作去表達自己的情感或學習意願,老師再引導小朋友主動發問而汲取知識,這讓我明白到老師是扮演着激發兒童自主學習的重要角色,靈活教學非常重要。」

 
 
挪威世界廚師代表大會
 
由世界廚師聯合會,每兩年舉辦的世界廚師代表大會,已經有86年歷史。同學參與大會,不但可觀摩世界廚師挑戰賽,從中汲取經驗,更可與業界人士作廣泛交流,透過一系列研討會、專業廚師講座及參觀活動,探討地球危機、食物短缺、廚餘處理及環保海鮮等各個國際議題,讓同學了解餐飲文化與全球發展趨勢的深層次關係,驅使他們深入思索並不斷創新。正就讀歐陸廚藝文憑的姚安淇同學表示:「我從沒有想過傳統東坡肉可以西式煮法烹調,時代不斷轉變,我們一定要與時並進才可以不斷進步!」

 
 
西班牙Elisava設計院校選修課程

THEi與西班牙頂尖的設計院校合作,特別為其設計系學生開設一個選修課程,除了提供課堂訓練外,還加入了環境考察和參觀,包括踏單車漫遊巴塞隆拿及參觀政府Materfad物料中心等,不僅讓同學體驗西班牙自由開放的教育方式,更加是要了解一個國家的歷史及文化對設計師或藝術家的視野有着怎樣的影響。就讀產品設計課程的黎詩珮同學說:「當地非常注重環保,常以最低成本發揮最高創意為本,設計具功能性的產品,如將一塊扇形的膠片置於一隻點着蠟燭的紅酒杯上,酒杯便變為一盞很有特色的燈。將舊物進化成新產品,令我反思將來產品的設計方向。」

 
 
日本高專院校學科專題報告
 
日本是個工業技術發達的國家,實驗室設備先進完善,讓同學可實踐未能在香港進行的實驗,幫助他們掌握書本上的理論知識。其中,就讀機械工程高級文憑的葉卓奇同學非常珍惜這個機會:「我在日本做的畢業專題報告,是研究利用炸藥的爆炸所產生的衝擊波使金屬成形的方法,由繪圖、加工到實物製造都一手包辦,體驗整個實驗過程的進行,在香港暫時都不可能有這種機會!」