Industry Partnership
 
Home > Industry Partnership > Giving to VTC > Into the Future

Into the Future


In pursuit of quality and excellence in vocational education, VTC has undertaken various new campus infrastructure projects and student development initiatives, your steadfast support can heighten student excellence.
 

Technological and Higher Education Institute of Hong Kong (THEi) Chai Wan Campus
Vocational niche degree programmes for work-ready graduates

THEi is a VTC member institution, recently established to offer vocationally-oriented degree programmes with industry attachments in its Faculties of Design, Management and Hospitality, and Science and Technology. Its new campus in Chai Wan due for completion in 2016/17 is housed in a twin-tower building that provides a dynamic and engaging learning environment. Among its distinctive features is a spacious common room on the first floor to encourage exchange of innovative ideas and inspiring discussions among students of diverse academic interests. Another highlight is a large greenhouse, which not only establishes the institute’s ecofriendly credentials, but also offers hands-on learning opportunities for the horticulture and landscape management programmes. The new campus, will occupy a gross floor area of approximately 39,700 square metres.


 

 

 
International Culinary Institute (ICI)
Nurturing internationalised culinary talents

VTC seeks to create a continuous supply of qualified talents to support the sustained growth of the hospitality and tourism sectors in Hong Kong and its neighbouring region.

ICI, a culinary institute complementary to the Chinese Cuisine Training Institute, has been established to provide students with a culinary arts education incorporating East and West, where the diverse cooking and catering techniques of Europe, Mediterranean, South America, the Middle East and Asia are taught. Located in its Pokfulam campus, the institute’s six-storey complex is equipped with a comprehensive array of on-campus facilities, including training kitchens, food and beverage/MICE training workshops, tiered demonstration kitchen, food and science laboratory and research kitchen.  

Due for completion in 2016/17, the new complex will cover a gross floor area of 11,047 square metres, enabling ICI to provide education programmes for some 2,000 students every year.


 

 

 



 
International Competitions
Exposure to best practices and world-class skills performance

VTC students are encouraged to take part in competitions worldwide.  These events provide them with abundant opportunities to challenge themselves and benchmark their skills in pursuit of excellence.  Furthermore, our young people can learn from international best practices, stretch their abilities to the limit and develop resilience through such experiences.

Since 1997, VTC students have become an indispensable part of the Hong Kong team participating in the bi-annual WorldSkills Competition, also known as the “Skill Olympics,” the world’s biggest vocational education and skills excellence event, that brings together contestants from 60 countries and regions to compete in a multitude of skill areas. To date, we have garnered two Golds, one Silver, four Bronzes and 39 Medallions for Excellence from the event.


 

 

 

Overseas Student Exchanges
Developing global citizens of the future

Our overseas exchange programmes provide VTC students with a holistic education by exposing them to new skills, global mindsets and perspectives, along with a better understanding of the culture and lifestyle in other countries.  Among them are study projects on trade-specific topics, attachments, cultural trips and semester studies carried out at VTC’s partner institutions in Japan, Singapore, Taiwan, Australia, the UK, Europe and mainland China.  These international learning experiences bring lifelong benefit to students’ development. Their language skills and learning agility will also be enhanced.

Due to resource constraints, only a limited number of candidates are currently offered the privilege of gaining overseas exposure. It is our target to provide all our students with at least one overseas exchange experience during their tenures with us.


 

 

 

 
Youth Engagement and Development
Transforming passions into career skills

Personal interest is a driving force that can turn learning into a passion.  Enabling our youths to discover their interests, strengths and aptitudes early will facilitate them to formulate and develop their life goals into a profession.
 
Aligned with the Chief Executive’s recent Policy Address, which highlights the need for enhancing youth education and support for life planning, VTC plans to line up a series of career planning programmes to acquaint students with the diversified
education and job opportunities available.  Under this initiative, we will provide individualised career and personal development guidance, together with career
taster events, to help them address their personal development and lifelong career progression needs.


 


 

Partnership with Industry
Work-integrated learning to increase students’ employability

VTC works closely with industry to develop curricula attuned to the evolving needs of employers.  Apart from this, we are also grateful to the many companies
who have provided workplace learning experiences and scholarships for our students.  While the internship programmes benefit the participants with
valuable pre-employment experience, scholarships offer our students the recognition and financial support in their quest for excellence.
 
These contributions are vital to our efforts to pass on skills, knowledge and expertise to the next generations and maintain a sustainable pipeline of young talents to support the manpower needs of industry and their continuous growth. We endeavor to take our partnership with industry to a newer level to back their professional advancement and increase our students’ employability.

業界合作
 
職業訓練局 > 業界合作 > 您的支持 > 創建未來

創建未來


VTC致力發展香港卓越的專業教育培訓,正籌備多個新校舍及學生發展計劃,您的大力支持將有助學生開創更廣闊的未來。


 

香港高等科技教育學院 (THEi)
柴灣校園

專業技能為本的學士學位課程 培育專業實幹的畢業生

剛開辦不久的THEi是VTC轄下的機構成員,提供以專業技能為本的學士學位課程,並為設計學院、工商及酒店旅遊管理學院以及科技學院的學生提供實習機會。THEi 位於柴灣的全新校舍將於2016/17年度落成,教學樓採納雙塔設計,總面績達39,700平方米,將提供一個互動融和的學習環境。其中一個設計特色是位於一樓的寬敞休息室,鼓勵有不同學術興趣的學生在此交流及討論創新意念。而另一項特色則是於校園內設立一個偌大的溫室,不僅為學院增添環保氣息,同時為就讀園藝及園景管理的學生提供實地體驗的學習機會。


>>  捐款將用作教學樓的發展經費、獎學金以及支援 THEi 進行各項學習、教學與研究的計劃。
 

 

 
國際廚藝學院(ICI)
培育國際化的廚藝專才

VTC致力為香港與鄰近地區的服務業及旅遊業持續發展提供源源不絕的業界專才。

繼中華廚藝學院後,VTC設立ICI為學生提供中西廚藝研習課程,內容涵蓋歐洲、地中海、南美洲、中東及亞洲等國際菜系的烹調和餐飲技巧。其位於薄扶林的校園,六層高的綜合大樓配備了完善和全面的校園教學設施,包括訓練廚房、餐飲/會議訓練工作坊、示範廚房、食品科學實驗室及研究廚房等。

全新的綜合大樓總面績達11,047平方米, 於2016/17年度落成後,每年可為約2,000個學生提供教學課程。


>>  募捐款項將用以設立獎學金、提供最先進的學習環境,以及其他可提升學生國際視野和參與國際烹飪計劃的機會。

 

 

國際比賽

觀摩世界級專業技術  提升實力

VTC鼓勵學生參加不同的國際比賽,透過比併測試自己的專業水平,不斷挑戰自己,提升實力,更可從中汲取世界級的專業技術,鍛鍊耐力,開拓機遇。

自1997年起,VTC 學生已成為香港隊參與世界技能大賽不可或缺的一員。此兩年一度的大賽被譽為「技能界奧林匹克」,是全球最大型的專業知識和技能競技大賽,匯聚60個國家和地區的選手於不同範疇一較高下。至今我們已在這項大賽中摘下兩金、一銀、四銅及39個優異獎章。


>>  您們的捐助可讓更多學生有機會出國參加各項主要的國際性比賽,並藉此鼓勵年輕人努力不懈,追求卓越成績。

 

 

海外學生交流
培育具世界視野的未來公民

VTC的學生可透過參加我們的海外交流計劃學習新的技能、開拓國際化思維與視野,同時對異國文化和生活模式有更透徹的了解,當中包括由 VTC 於日本、新加坡、台灣、澳洲、英國、歐洲及中國內地的伙伴學院開辦的多元化學習計劃,例如以專業為主的學習課題、工作實習、文化交流及學期課程。這些國際學習體驗將為學生的發展帶來終生受用的裨益,提升他們的語言能力和學習靈活度。

然而,由於資源所限,現時只有少數學生能獲得這些出國體驗的機會。我們的目標是希望所有學生在就學期間可以得到至少一次海外交流的體驗。

 
青年就業及發展
將熱誠轉化為職業技能

個人興趣往往是把熱誠轉化成學習的推動力,讓我們的年輕人及早發現自己的興趣、長處和潛能,有助於他們訂定人生目標,發展終生事業。
為配合行政長官最近發表的施政報告,當中重點提到積極加強青年教育及協助他們作出職業生涯規劃的施政方針,VTC將安排一系列職學規劃活動,讓學生了解多元化的教育課程及其相應事業發展的前景,並且提供個人化的職業發展指導,配合職業體驗活動,協助他們面對個人發展與職業生涯規劃的挑戰。

 
業界合作
結合職場培訓 提升學生就業率

VTC 一直與業界緊密合作,因應僱主不斷演進的需求而開設相關課程,而我們亦十分感激眾多企業為我們的學生提供工作學習體驗和獎學金。企業實習計劃讓學生獲得寶貴的職前工作經驗,而 獎學金不但為學生提供經濟上的支援,更重要的是在他們追求卓越成就時予以認同及鼓勵。
 
這些支持對於我們把技能、知識及專業傳承至下一代極其重要,好讓我們為業界的人力資源持續輸出年輕人才,支援業界的可持續發展。為了支持學生的專業發展及加強他們的就業率,我們將 致力把與業界的合作提升到新的層次。