Industry Partnership
 
Home > Industry Partnership > Giving to VTC > Student Development Programme
{ VCare }

VCare is a social service learning programme aimed at nurturing the civil consciousness of students and their caring attitude towards the community.  Through a series of workshops and guest seminars, it provides training in the planning of activities and services for the needy groups.  Backed by social service organisations, students are responsible for identifying their target groups, developing the event content and overseeing every aspect of project execution.  Sponsored by The Joseph Lau Luen Hung Charitable Trust since 2013, over 900 students conducted more than 60 community services programmes, which had helped the needy in the society.
 
After School Care

Putting themselves into teacher’s shoes for the first time, the students of the After School Care Programme were often touched by the purity and innocence of the kids they looked after.  Student Yuen Ming Chu said: “From the time we were strangers to when we built emotional bonds and I started receiving surprise birthday gifts of caricatures of myself, secretly sketched by the kids, I was moved by the experience profoundly.”  As for Wong Sin Yi, she recalled: “Once after escorting them on a Science Museum tour, the last activity of the programme, all the kids lined up and said “thank you” and “good-bye” to us in unison.  It was unforgettable!” This programme has not only inculcated patience and a sense of responsibility in the students, but also a far-reaching impact on the kids, who would remember the love received and become inspired to pass on the legacy of care and love by undertaking voluntary work themselves.

 
Happy Family
 
The Happy Family programme students paid visit to families of new immigrants regularly.  They led the parents in games designed to deepen their bonds with their own kids.  Every activity in this project was finalised for implementation only after several rounds of brainstorming by the students. Sharing her experiences, student Wong Po Ling said: “Project management requires prior discussion and follow up on each of the many details. No part of the process can be overlooked. When contingency incidents or disagreements are encountered, good communication skills are a must to resolve the problems together among the group members.”


We Care! Our Big Family
 
After a few months of visiting the solitary elders, the students not only picked up the skills of communicating with them, but the experience also strengthened their civic spirit, prompting the students to care more for the elderly citizens in the society. Student Chan Chun Wai said: “The activity made me realise that a simple chat with the elderly about their past would make them happy. I would continue my voluntary work to help those in need!”

                                                                                                                                                                                                     scroll down for more

{ Speak for Success }
 
Sponsored by HSBC, the Speak for Success Programme seeks to enhance students’communication skills and cultivate their self-confidence, in order to become an outstanding leader. In 2014/15, 500 students joined various workshops and seminars to polish their Chinese and English oratory and compering skills.  They also learnt the intonations, body languages and acting techniques of drama for application in everyday communication and public speaking.  Putting what they learnt into practice, students became community journalists, reporting on traditional arts in Hong Kong, to bolster their storytelling abilities.  Through speaking contests, they took part in group reviews to uplift their overall oral presentation skills.  The programme covers an extensive range of topics and content, to provide students with training outside their school subjects to further their personal development.
 
“I used to be reluctant to speak in English,” said Ko Lai Ling, a student who took part in the programme. As someone afraid of doing presentations, she felt that she has made impressive strides in self-development, now that she is brave enough to speak publicly and even compere events. “The truth is that public speaking is not as difficult as I imagined. So long as one has a grasp of the techniques of conveying one’s messages clearly, it could be successfully done.”  Even when she had finished all the prepared questions in the seminars she hosted, she could act according to the situation and initiate exchanges between guests and audience, reflecting her ability to flexibly apply what she has learnt.  “The instructor guided us to overcome the fears of public speaking, and encouraged us to speak and practise. So long as you are willing to master the courage to speak up, and practise relentlessly, you will improve and gradually build up your self-confidence to overcome any future challenges.”

 
Through this programme, students are given the opportunity to learn from senior HSBC executives first hand and interact with them, with plenty of benefits to be gained. “With encouragement from the senior HSBC executives, we are determined to take our learning seriously and prepare ourselves for the future!” they added. 
 
                                                                                                                                                                                                     scroll down for more

{ Road to Marathon }
 
Road to Marathon is a programme to hone students’ perseverance and their spirit of moving forward through professional and systematic training for long-distance running. Since its launch two years ago, more than a thousand students have received the training in both classroom coaching and onsite instructions at the running track. Many students joined the various local marathon events for their first time. Mr Lau Ming Wai of The Joseph Lau Luen Hung Charitable Trust which sponsored the programme, encouraged students to overcome difficulties with a positive attitude and face the myriad challenges in life with courage. He said: “Whether it is a marathon or short-distance running, everybody is equal on the athletic track. Efforts and results are most often positively correlated.”
 
For student Wong Yat Fung, who had never run a marathon before, the training he underwent was especially grueling and made him thought of givingup more than once. But it was during such moments that the words of encouragement from his classmates rang in his ears: “Run, keep running!” Motivated to continue running, he gradually developed the strength of resilience and learnt how to set goals for himself, as he kept moving ahead. Though it was his first time to take part in a half marathon, he finished in 1 hour 25 minutes and 47 seconds and the outstanding performance won him a referral to run a marathon in Australia.

 
Despite the outstanding results achieved, Wong did not rest on his laurels. Instead, he quietly set the next goal for himself. “I truly respect and admire my coach and often call him “teacher.” I remember how I started out with no possibility of keeping pace with the coach. Hence, apart from the routine training, I put in extra effort every day to run 10 km, in the morning and at night.” His hard work finally paid off. Wong could eventually keep up with his coach and earn the latter’s praise. Since then, they have become friends, and often shared ideas on running. The training experience taught him to “believe in himself”, as though he has made a commitment. “No matter what the challenges, I believe in myself and would never give up midway.”

业界合作
 
职业训练局 > 业界合作 > 您的支持 > 学生发展计划
{ VCare 计划 }

VCare是一项社会服务研习计划,目的是培养同学的公民意识以及关怀社区的精神。整个计划透过一系列的工作坊和嘉宾讲座,为同学提供有关活动策划及社会服务的基本训练,在社福机构的支援下,由同学自行商讨及设计每一项服务计划─从选择服务对象丶订定活动内容,以至执行等全由同学一手包办,让同学在汲取策划活动的经验之外,更可帮助有需要的社群。在刘銮雄慈善基金的支持下,计划於2013年展开,至今已有超过900名同学组成60多个小组参与不同种类的社区服务,帮助社会上有需要的人士。
 
课後家课托管服务计划

首次调换身份成为老师的同学,在课後家课托管服务计划中被小朋友的纯真丶真诚深深地打动,阮明珠同学说:「小学生虽不善於以言语表达情感,但由互不相识,到建立感情,以至在毫无准备下收到他们偷偷为我绘制的肖像作为生日礼物,令我深深感动。」而黄倩怡同学则忆起另一个情境:「参观完科学馆,亦意味着整个项目已经完结,分别时所有小朋友自发排成直线,齐声说多谢和再见,那一刻很难忘!」这个计划除了培养了同学的责任感和耐性外,相信对受惠的小朋友也会有深远的影响,说不定他们长大後还会记得这群哥哥姐姐,并透过义务工作把这份关怀传承下去。

 
童声同戏展义彩计划
 
童声同戏展义彩计划透过同学定期到新移民家庭进行家访及游览等活动,引领家长们以游戏方式与子女沟通,以改善亲子关系。参与的同学经过多次会议及讨论才设计出这个计划内的每一项活动,黄宝玲同学分享:「项目管理有许多细节需要逐一讨论和跟进,每一样都不可以遗漏,遇到突发事情或意见不合的情况,更需要良好的沟通技巧,与组员合力解决问题。」郭倩雯同学亦表示:「与人沟通,说话一定要清晰,我以前说话就是既急且快,而忽略了别人是否了解明白,现在学懂了。」

 
We Care! Our Big Family
 
「长者们劳苦一生,现在应该是享福的时候了,特别是独居长者,我们应多关心他们。」罗天敏同学在参加了We Care! Our Big Family活动後有感而发。经过数个月来探访独居长者後,同学们不仅学懂了与长者沟通的技巧,而且更大大提升了他们的公民意识,让同学们更加关心社会上独居长者的需要。陈俊玮同学表示:「活动让我亲身体会到,只要简单地陪老人们谈谈天丶话当年,其实已足以纾解他们的郁闷。在活动结束之後我会继续投身义工,帮助有需要的人!」
 
                                                                                                                                                                                                     更多向下滑动
 
 
{ 说出成功路计划 }
 
由滙丰赞助的说出成功路计划,为加强同学的沟通能力,培养他们的自信心,成为一名出色的领袖而设立。2014/15年度共有500名同学透过此计划参与各类型工作坊及座谈会,训练和提升中英语沟通及司仪技巧,借鉴专业戏剧,学习他们的声调运用丶肢体语言及舞台艺术,以应用於沟通及演说。实践方面,同学又有机会担任社区记者,走访香港传统工艺,加强阐述故事的能力,并通过以队制形式进行演讲比赛,参与一连串的小组检讨,进一步改进整体的演说能力。此计划涵盖广阔,内容充实,为同学提供学科以外的培训,让他们达至更全面的个人发展。
 
「我以前很怕讲英文。」参与过此计划的高丽铃同学表示,她以前从来怕做报告,但现在却勇於在人前演讲,甚至做活动司仪,自觉有了长足的改变:「原来演讲并没有我想像的这麽难,只要掌握技巧,清晰表达讯息,便可以顺利完成。」就算是主持公开的座谈会,当问完事先准备好的问题後,她亦能随机应变,引导与会人士向嘉宾发问,将所学的技巧派上用场。能够克服公开演说的困难,高同学非常感激导师的指导与帮助,「老师会逐一分析同学的问题,又鼓励我们多讲多练。只要你肯讲丶敢讲丶肯练就会有进步,就能逐渐培养出自信来,应付将来的挑战。」

 
「感觉很震撼!」同学异口同声地表示,透过计划有机会跟随身居要职的滙丰行政人员学习,并与他们交流,令他们既惊喜,亦获益良多。「滙丰高级管理人员的鼓励,令我们下定决心更认真地学习,为将来作好准备!」 

                                                                                                                                                                                                     更多向下滑动
 
 
{ Road to Marathon 计划 }
 
Road to Marathon计划旨在透过专业丶有系统的长跑训练,锻炼同学坚毅不屈丶勇往直前的精神。两个学年间已有逾千同学参与受训,接受长跑专家的课堂训练及跑道上的实地指导,很多同学更因而首次参与本地各项长跑赛事,令校园充满了阳光气息。活动赞助人丶刘銮雄慈善基金刘鸣炜先生鼓励同学以积极的态度克服困难,勇於面对人生各项挑战,他说:「无论是长跑或短跑,在赛道上人人平等,付出与成果往往是成正比的。」
 
其中,对从未参与过长跑活动的黄逸丰同学而言,接受训练时份外艰辛,更常想到放弃。此时,同学的鞭策总在耳边不断响起:「跑,继续跑!」,激励着他继续跑下去,渐渐地便练出一股韧力,并学懂为自己订立目标,勇往直前。黄同学初次参加半马拉松,便以1小时25分47秒的佳绩冲过终点,其後更被推荐参加澳洲马拉松。

 
取得如此佳绩,黄同学不但没有自满,更默默地为自己订立下一个目标─决心追上专业跑手出身的教练的步伐:「我由衷地敬佩教练,会以老师尊称他。记得刚开始时我根本没可能跟跑,於是除了例行练习外,我还每天加操,早晚各跑10公里,希望能赶上老师。」付出的努力终於有回报,黄同学终可紧贴着教练跑回终点,更重要的是还赢得教练的认同,自此与教练亦师亦友,互相分享跑步的心得。这个历程更让他学懂「相信自己」:「这仿似是对自己的一个承诺,无论遇上甚麽困难都要相信自己,绝不会中途放弃。」