Skip to main content
Open/Close Side Menu Open/Close Main Menu
Start of Content
Faculty of Management and Hospitality
Self-financed Programmes

Bachelor of Social Sciences (Honours) in Sports and Recreation Management

Programme code MH125101

Duration of Study
Entry to Year 3: 2 Years
Mode of Study
Full-time
Offering Campus(es) / Venue(s)
THEi

(Teaching would be conducted at THEi (Chai Wan).  Some core modules and General Education (GE) modules would be conducted at other campuses.)

Entrance Requirements
Entrance Requirements for Year 3:
Higher Diploma OR equivalent qualifications in a relevant area of study.
Remarks:
  1. Additional core modules may be required (with fee charged) for sub-degree graduates according to the educational background of individuals.
  2. All applicants are screened and selected by an Admission and Interview Panel. All interviews are conducted in English.
  3. For enquiry, please contact Faculty of Management and Hospitality (Telephone No: 3890 8222).
Programme Aims
In recent years, a strong demand for sports and recreation professionals has been constituted by the rapid development of the sports and recreation industry in Hong Kong.  This programme aims to provide students with a rigorous and intellectual programme of study; especially for those who wish to pursue or further advance their careers in the core areas of Sports Coaching, Sports Therapy, or Recreation Management.  Through high-quality education and training; this programme not only emphasises the importance of theoretical knowledge, but also the development of students’ practical and professional skills through gaining work experiences in the industry, which is undertaken during Year 3 and Year 4.  Students are expected to be professionally and/or clinically competent in their disciplines upon their graduation.  Students will specialise in one of the following three specialisations: (1) Sports Coaching, (2) Sports Therapy, and (3) Recreation Management. 

Sports Coaching Specialisation :
This specialisation nurtures future sports coaches and sports scientists with the ability to enhance athletic performances with the most up-to-date knowledge of sports science and technology.  A wide range of core modules are covered in this specialisation: coaching for both individual and team sports, performance measurement and analyses for both training and competition, sports biomechanics, sports psychology, strength and conditioning for sports performance, and talent identification in sports.
 
Sports Therapy Specialisation :
This specialisation is accredited by The Society of Sports Therapists (SST) from the United Kingdom.  Students undertaking this specialisation are recognised as student members of the SST and are trained professionally on-field and clinically, with the ability to recognise, prevent and treat sports injuries for athletes.  This specialisation covers recognition and evaluation of sports injuries, peripheral and vertebral manual therapy, on-field emergency management, strength and conditioning, and rehabilitation of sports injuries, also catering for the needs of the special populations.

Recreation Management Specialisation :
THEi is the corporate member of the Hong Kong Recreation Management Association (HKRMA).  Students undertaking this specialisation are advised to become student members of the HKRMA.  This specialisation provides graduates with essential training in the core areas of recreation management, work-ready for both the commercial and public sector.  Core Modules include sports media, sports and globalisation, communication and public relations, operation and management in clubhouse and spa, park, pool, and horticulture management, human resources and strategic management, and marketing management.
Career Prospects
Sports Coaching Specialisation :
Graduates from this specialisation can become, but not limited to, being a sport coach, strength and conditioning coach, fitness coach, or a sport scientist. Potential employers include National Sports Associations, Hong Kong Sports Institute Limited, Leisure and Cultural Services Department (LCSD), local and international fitness centres, and national and overseas sports clubs.

Sports Therapy Specialisation :
Graduates from this specialisation are eligible to register at the SST, UK as a Sports Therapists and become full members. Potential employers include sports therapy and rehabilitation clinics, National Sports Associations, Hong Kong Sports Institute Limited, and national or international sports clubs/teams.

Recreation Management Specialisation :
Graduates from this specialisation will have the essential qualities to work at the Leisure and Cultural Services Department, private or residential clubhouses, local or international event management companies or sports marketing companies, theme parks, National Sports Associations, and Hong Kong Sports Institute Limited.
Professional Recognition
The Sports Therapy specialisation of this programme is accredited by The Society of Sports Therapists, in UK.
Notes
Students may be required to attend classes on other VTC campuses. VTC reserves the right to cancel any programme, revise programme content or change the offering institute(s) / campus(es) / class venue(s) if circumstances so warrant.

跳至主要內容
展開/折疊副目錄 展開/折疊主目錄
開始內容
工商及酒店旅遊管理學院
自資課程

運動及康樂管理(榮譽) 社會科學學士

課程編號 MH125101

修讀期
入讀三年級:2 年
上課形式
全日制
開辦院校/上課地點
THEi

(上課地點在 THEi (柴灣),部分核心單元及通識單元上課地點在其他分校。)

入學條件
入讀三年級的入學條件:
持有相關的高級文憑或同等學歷之畢業生。
備註︰
  1. 視乎個別學生的背景,副學位畢業生須額外修讀相關的單元(另行收費)。
  2. 所有申請者須進行入學甄選及面試,所有面試以英語進行。
  3. 工商及酒店旅遊管理學院課程查詢,請致電:3890 8222。
課程宗旨
香港運動及康樂管理行業發展迅速,業界因此對相關的專業人才十分渴求。本課程旨在為學生提供高質素的學位教育及專業技能訓練,以配合社會對運動及康體專業人員多元化的殷切需求,協助學生晉身運動教練、運動治療或康樂管理行業。本課程理論與實務並行,所涉及的範疇廣泛而實用。透過高質素的教育和訓練,以及實習經驗,畢業生將會掌握專業知識和臨床技巧。學生可選取不同的專修範疇,包括(1)運動教練、(2)運動治療、或(3)康樂管理,以加強學生在不同範疇的專業性。

運動教練範疇:
此範疇培育未來運動教練人才,藉由運動科學提升運動表現。運動教練範疇的課程將涵蓋個人及隊際運動教練學、運動表現測量與分析、運動生物力學、運動心理學、力量及體能訓練、以及運動選才。
 
運動治療範疇:
此範疇已於通過英國運動治療師學會 (The Society of Sports Therapists) 的專業認證,選擇此範疇的學生將自動成為英國運動治療師學會的學生會員。此範疇專門培育能預防及處理運動創傷之運動治療師。運動治療範疇的課程涵蓋運動創傷預防及處理、運動創傷識別及評估、肢體及脊椎手法治療、駐場緊急處理、力量及體能訓練、以及運動創傷與特殊人士復康。
 
康樂管理範疇:
本校為香港康樂管理協會的公司會員之一。本範疇主要培育專業康樂與運動管理人才。康樂管理範疇的課程包含運動媒體、傳播與公共關係、會所營運與管理、運動與全球化、公園、泳池及樹木管理、人力資源管理、策略管理、以及行銷管理。
就業
運動教練範疇:
選讀本範疇的學生畢業後能成為專業運動教練、體能教練或從事運動科學研究。畢業生有機會能夠任職的機構包括各項體育總會、香港體育學院、康樂及文化事務署、本地及海外健身中心與運動俱樂部。
 
運動治療範疇:
選讀本範疇的學生畢業後能有資格為英國運動治療師學會的基本會員及註冊運動治療師。畢業生有機會能夠任職的機構包括運動治療與復康診所、各項體育總會、香港體育學院、運動俱樂部及代表隊。
 
康樂管理範疇:
選讀本範疇的學生畢業後能有機會任職於康樂及文化事務署、私人會所、賽事及活動管理公司、運動市場行銷公司、主題公園、各項體育總會和香港體育學院。
專業認可
本課程的運動治療範疇已經獲得英國運動治療師學會的專業認證。
註解
學生或須於其他 VTC 院校上課。VTC 可因應情況取消任何課程、修正課程內容或更改開辦課程的院校/分校/上課地點。